Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

University of Minnesota Medical School

Alpha Minnesota


The University of Minnesota Alpha Chapter was founded in 1908.

Notable AΩA members:

S. Marx White

  • One of the original 10 members of the inaugural AΩA class
  • Appointed Chief of the Department of Medicine (1920)
  • Served as Chief of Medicine at the No. 26 Base Hospital during WWI

C.Walton Lillehei

  • Elected to AΩA class of 1941
  • Was a pioneer of open-heart surgery at the University of Minnesota
  • Personally trained residents from 39 different countries

James H. House

  • Elected to AΩA class of 1962
  • Received B.S., M.D., M.S. degrees and completed his orthopedic surgery residency at the University of Minnesota
  • Served as AOA UMN Alpha Chapter Counselor for over 20 years.