Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Search this Site

Online Registration

New members only.
Activate your membership now

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158

National and Chapter News

Alpha Omega Alpha names Vanderbilt University Medical Center Program as 2016 Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award Sole Recipient

June 20, 2016 – Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has named the Vanderbilt Center for Patient and Professional Advocacy (CPPA) as the sole recipient of the 2016 Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award.

Established more than 25 years ago by Gerald B. Hickson, M.D., assistant vice chancellor for Health Affairs and Senior Vice President for Quality, Safety and Risk Prevention at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, the CPPA program has become a cornerstone at VUMC. A curriculum of professionalism and accountability is woven throughout the third- and fourth-year medical student curriculum. Students study and discuss such topics as self-regulation; behaviors that undermine a culture of safety and how to address them; risk prevention; and medical error disclosure.

CPPA believes that professionalism education must be ongoing. Faculty and staff also stay active by attending workshops focusing on these same important topics.

The program has also instituted two systems to promote accountability: Patient Advocacy Report System (PARS®) and Coworker Observation Reporting System (CORS®). PARS is a tool for tracking and identifying physicians with high malpractice risk based on patient complaints. It also involves peer-delivered interventions to promote professional accountability. PARS tracks more than 30,000 physicians in over 100 Health Systems in the U.S. The innovative programs developed by CPPA have had an impact contributing to a reduction in VUMC’s expected malpractice-related costs by almost $170 million over the past 10 years.

CORS is a tool to address physicians who generate a greater number of staff concerns. It also offers intervention, and has proven to be 70 percent effective at eliminating staff concerns during subsequent years.

“Alpha Omega Alpha is pleased to recognize and promote Vanderbilt’s work to improve professionalism among physicians nationally and internationally,” said Richard L. Byyny, M.D., FACP, executive director. “Under the leadership of Dr. William Cooper, we look forward to hearing more extraordinary accomplishments from this program and Vanderbilt.”

Created in 2009, the Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award recognizes and honors outstanding programs that model best practices in medical professionalism and education. Up to three awards can be given each year. Award recipients receive $10,000 and are invited as attendees at AΩA’s biennial professionalism think tank, scheduled to be held in Chicago later this year.

Learn more about the award at:

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AΩA)

Since its founding in 1902, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has recognized and advocated for excellence in scholarship, demonstrated professionalism, and the growth of physician leadership in the profession of medicine. Through 129 active chapters in the United States and Lebanon, more than 3,600 new members are inducted into the society each year. More than 55 Nobel Prize winners are members of Alpha Omega Alpha, as well as 11 of the 19 United States Surgeons General, including Dr. Vivek Murthy. Nearly 75 percent of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA. Alpha Omega Alpha annually grants more than $1.5 million in programs and awards to impact medical students, residents, teachers, and community physicians.

Updated on June 22, 2016.

© 2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society