"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

National and Chapter News

South Carolina Beta Chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha Holds Spring Induction Banquet

Univ So Carolina Pictured (left to right): (Daniel Eggart, John Dacus, Robby Richter, Leslie Gilbert, Daniel Bouknight, Olga Raetskaya-Solntseva, Mark Jones, Erin Marcotsis, Carol McMahon, Dr. Britt, Ed Barnes, Tina Kennelly, Katherine Campbell, Holly Bowdre, Bevin Hearn, Brent Wilkerson, Krista Davenport, Nima Aghaebrahim, Jesse Woodard, Chris Huffman, Ginny Gottschalk, Kaki Bruce, Will Bynum, and Beth Bailey).


On Wednesday, March 18, 2009 the South Carolina Beta Chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha held its 2009 Spring Induction Banquet. With over 100 in attendance, 13 students from the Classes of 2009 and 2010 were inducted into AΩA along with 3 resident physicians, 2 alumna of the School of Medicine, and 2 faculty members. Dr. L.D. Britt, Brickhouse Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, Virginia, and AΩA Visiting Professor was the guest speaker for the event. In addition, Dr. Jimmy Pacheco-Perez from the Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science was recognized with the AΩA Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award.

The inductees were:

Class of 2009: Amin Aghaebrahim, Ed Barnes, Katherine Elizabeth Campbell, Krista J. Davenport, Leslie Gilbert, Christina Crabbe Kennelly.

Class of 2010: Holly Bowdre, William Edwards Bynum IV, Malcolm Daniel Eggart, Erin Burfield Marcotsis, Olga Raetskaya-Solntseva, Robert P. Richter, Brent Jerome Wilkerson.

Resident Physicians: Janie Catherine Bruce, MD—Department of Internal Medicine; Ginny L. Gottschalk, MD—Department of Family and Preventive Medicine; Mark Allen Jones, MD—Department of Surgery.

Alumnus: Daniel P. Bouknight, MD—Class of 1993; Katherine A. Close, MD—Class of 1988.

Faculty: John V. Dacus, MD—Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology (Greenville); Carol Lynn McMahon, MD—Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology.

Return to National and Chapter News

Updated on August 18, 2009.