"Be worthy to Serve the Suffering" Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Key Background

Locate a Member

Enter the first part of a member's last name to search


New Member Registration

Search this Site

Contact Information

National Office
12635 E. Montview Blvd., Suite 270
Aurora, CO 80045
P: (720) 859-4149
F: (720) 859-4158
E: info@alphaomegaalpha.org

AΩA Programs

AΩA Program Deadlines 2021

January 5, 2021: The Pharos Poetry Award
January 19, 2021: Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Award
February 2, 2021: Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship
February 16, 2021: Medical Student Service Leadership Project Grant
March 9, 2021: Fellow in Leadership
April 2, 2021: Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award
June 1, 2021: Postgraduate Fellowship
September 28, 2021: AΩA Award for Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Medical Education and Patient Care
October 12, 2021: Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award
October 19, 2021: Robert H. Moser Essay Award


All submissions must be done electronically on the AΩA website under Programs.

AΩA Award for Excellence in Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Medical Education and Patient Care

This award recognizes medical schools (and their associated AΩA Chapter) that demonstrate exemplary leadership, innovation, and engagement in fostering an inclusive culture that transforms the ideals of inclusion, diversity, and equity into successful programs that support medical student, house staff, and faculty diversity in service to the community.

Learn More

Administrative Recognition Award

In recognition of the services provided by administrative personnel to the working of local Chapters, Chapter Councilors may nominate a member of administrative staff for this award, which is in the form of a gift certificate.

Learn More

Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship

To promote basic and clinical research in medical fields, social science, or health services, AΩA awards up to fifty $5,000 fellowships each year to medical students at schools with active AΩA chapters.

Learn More

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Professionalism Award

This award recognizes and honors outstanding faculty and programs with the best practices in medical professionalism education. Up to three one-time awards of $10,000 will be given based on a national competition. This program solicits nominees with ongoing programs in medical schools and/or affiliated institutions that represent best practices in the teaching and learning of medical professionalism. Programs should:

  • Include medical students, residents, faculty, and/or practicing physicians
  • Show evidence of effectiveness
  • Show evidence of sustainability
  • Be exportable to other medical institutions

Learn More

Fellow in Leadership

This award recognizes and supports the further development of outstanding leaders. Mid-career physicians who provide outstanding leadership within organizations in medicine and health care, including schools of medicine, academic health centers, community hospitals, clinics, agencies, or organizations, with a high promise for future success and contribution are eligible to apply. The applicants must be members of AΩA. Up to three awards of $25,000 to be used for further development as leaders.

Learn More

Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Award

To encourage scholarly writing, this awards offers prizes for essays on nontechnical medical topics. Winning essays are published in The Pharos.

Learn More

Medical Student Service Leadership Project Grant

Alpha Omega Alpha is committed to preparing future leaders in medicine and health care. Leadership is about making a positive difference and can be learned through education, observation, and experience, and working with leader mentors. Service learning may provide an excellent opportunity for students to develop as servant leaders. Each chapter may submit one proposal for a project funded for three years at $5000 for the first year, $3000 for the second, and $1000 for the third.

Learn More

Robert H. Moser Essay Award

A $4,500 writing prize to honor one of the great leaders in American medicine, the late Robert H. Moser, MD (AΩA, Georgetown University, 1969). This prize will be awarded to an original, outstanding essay that celebrates the life of a physician like Dr. Moser who has enriched the world through his/her careers within, related to, and/or outside of medicine.

Learn More

The Pharos Poetry Award

To encourage students to write effective poetry. Winning poems are published in The Pharos.

Learn More

Postgraduate Fellowship

Support to allow residents or fellows to pursue a project in the spirit of the AΩA mission statement. Must be a research project or a scholarly project fulfilling the requirements for scholarly activity by the ACGME. Priority for scholarly projects will be given to those in the areas of leadership, professionalism, and teaching. Others may be considered based on the merits of the proposal. AΩA awards up to ten awards of $2000.

Learn More

Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award

Each year, in collaboration with the Association of American Medical Colleges, AΩA presents this award to four outstanding teachers nominated from medical schools in the United States and Canada. Past recipients of the award have developed medical education programs and materials widely adopted in medical school curricula. AΩA presents $10,000 to each award winner, $2,500 to the winner's teaching institution, and $1,000 to the AΩA chapter of the school.

This program is administered by the AAMC. For more information, visit AAMC's web site or contact Dr. Geoffrey Young.

Learn More

Visiting Professorship

Visiting professors can both educate and stimulate students, residents, and faculty during their visits. AΩA provides the opportunity for each Chapter to host one visiting professor per year for a day of activities, including grand rounds, meetings with small groups of students, and delivery of a lecture.

Learn More

Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

Clinical faculty in community practices devote much time and effort to teaching students and residents, yet their devotion is rarely publicly recognized. This award may be presented annually to one doctor in each AΩA Chapter in recognition of his or her indispensable services.

Learn More

AΩA Monograph—Medical Professionalism: Best Practices

Learn More

Leaders in American Medicine

In 1970 the society launched a program to record on videotape interviews with leading figures in American medicine. Some videos are now available as streaming videos. The recordings may be obtained without charge from our library. They have been donated to the National Library of Medicine, and may be purchased by contacting the NLM.

Learn More

Updated on September 10, 2020.