Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Distinguished Teacher Awards

Past Distinguished Teachers

2017 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

Download the announcement

Presented annually at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Awards Dinner. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the education of medical student by four faculty at LCME-approved schools of medicine: two educators from basic science, preclinical departments, and two from clinical disciplines.

The award
Up to four $10,000 awards. In addition, each recipient's institution will receive $2,500 for teaching activities. If that school has an AΩA Chapter, a $1,000 stipend is awarded to the Chapter.

Nominees submitted by the Deans are vetted by a review committee of past winners of the award.
Medical schools whose nominee wins one of the Distinguished Teacher Awards are not eligible to submit another nominee during three subsequent years.
Each nominee's application, bibliography, and curriculum vitae must be submitted by 5:00 PM EST, on APRIL 7, 2017 (Please Note - This is a revised date), to:

Geoffrey H. Young, PhD
655 K Street NW
Washington DC 20001
Email address:

For information about submitting a nomination, visit the AAMC's page:
Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Awards

Updated on April 3, 2017.

© 2017 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society